Netphoria Message Board

Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > Pumpkins Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 03-30-2007, 01:21 PM   #1
bluesky
Amish Rake Fighter

Question Definitive: MCIS and the Holocaust.

Yes, I'm making myself a big old target by posting this as my first post. I was on this message board and Listessa a million years ago and when my email expired so did my account. Oops.

Anyway, I'm a grad student in creative writing, and for my thesis I have to develop a literature project. I got permission to do look at the connection between MCIS and holocaust literature.

A recap follows. Skip past the next part if you already know:

------

In 1996 there was a Listessa thread talking about several books by Elie Wiesel that used the exact same poetic turns as songs from MCIS. Zero was supposedly 1-1 accurate in parts "cleanliness is godliness and god is empty," etc. This thread went on for some months, with some people calling BC a plaigiarist and others saying it was literary allusion. However, as far as I know the Wiesel book quoted does not actually exist.

Finally, the stink was big enough that Rolling Stone asked about it in an interview, and BC gave complete denial, saying that he'd never read Wiesel. There isn't anything in Night, Dawn, or Day that seems to point to a specific reference.