Netphoria Message Board


Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > Music Board Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Photo Album Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 10:15 PM   #1
silent_brian13
Apocalyptic Poster
 
silent_brian13's Avatar
 
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,436
Default Korg MicroKorg synthesizer/vocoder question

Is there a way to use the Korgs base sounds in garageband and manipulate those sounds using the knobs available on the Korg itself? Logic Pro 8 maybe? I can only get the keys to play their sounds but can't seem to use any effects except the pitch...Any help would be awesome.

 
silent_brian13 is offline
Old 03-29-2009, 06:17 AM   #2
silent_brian13
Apocalyptic Poster
 
silent_brian13's Avatar
 
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,436
Default

i must bump til i find the answer elsewhere...

 
silent_brian13 is offline
Old 03-29-2009, 09:55 AM   #3
cork_soaker
full of longing
 
cork_soaker's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,523
Default

i think you have to take it apart

 
cork_soaker is offline
Old 03-29-2009, 10:00 AM   #4
silent_brian13
Apocalyptic Poster
 
silent_brian13's Avatar
 
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,436
Default

good thinking.

 
silent_brian13 is offline
Old 03-29-2009, 11:56 AM   #5
Sylvia Woods
Apocalyptic Poster
 
Sylvia Woods's Avatar
 
Location: oooo
Posts: 1,353
Default

How are you connecting the Korg to the computer? I don't have one(been on my tobuy list for a sad amount of years) but every other keyboard I've connected lets me use all of its functions.

 
Sylvia Woods is offline
Old 03-30-2009, 12:04 AM   #6
silent_brian13
Apocalyptic Poster
 
silent_brian13's Avatar
 
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,436
Default

i have a midi to usb connection...
itll play the house sounds from GB, and I can even get watered down versions of the house sounds from the keyboard. but other than that no real effects to use.

 
silent_brian13 is offline
Old 03-30-2009, 02:07 AM   #7
noyen
Immortal
 
noyen's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,800
Default

explain your set up more. i still don't understand what you're trying to accomplish. when you say you want to use korg sounds in garageband and manipualte/add effects with the korg as well... you should just be using a straight stereo out. either you're using your korg as a midi controller (to control software or another keyboard or piece of hardware), or you're sending midi signals from a sequencer to the korg, which it then plays back either into a PA or back into your recording rig... so if you're sending midi to the korg and want to use the knobs on the korg to manipulate the sound as it is playing back, is that what you're having a problem with? just wanna make sure we're on the same page and you understand the concepts of midi versus using your korg as an effects unit.

 
noyen is offline
Old 03-30-2009, 02:12 AM   #8
noyen
Immortal
 
noyen's Avatar
 
Posts: 26,800
Default

also a forum like futureproducers.com might be more up your alley if you're wanting to learn how to milk that microkorg. it is a nice little keyboard/controller.

 
noyen is offline
Old 03-30-2009, 02:14 AM   #9
Sylvia Woods
Apocalyptic Poster
 
Sylvia Woods's Avatar
 
Location: oooo
Posts: 1,353
Default

Instead try connecting the Korg from its line out or headphone jack with a 1/4" to 1/8" cable to the line in of your computer. You can get one at a Radioshack for like 10 bucks(or a better quality kind for more money at an actual music shop).

 
Sylvia Woods is offline
Old 03-30-2009, 12:17 PM   #10
fluxequalsrad
Apocalyptic Poster
 
fluxequalsrad's Avatar
 
Posts: 4,156
Default

turn the frontside topwise.

 
fluxequalsrad is offline
Old 04-11-2009, 06:18 PM   #11
silent_brian13
Apocalyptic Poster
 
silent_brian13's Avatar
 
Location: san diego
Posts: 1,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noyen View Post
explain your set up more. i still don't understand what you're trying to accomplish. when you say you want to use korg sounds in garageband and manipualte/add effects with the korg as well... you should just be using a straight stereo out. either you're using your korg as a midi controller (to control software or another keyboard or piece of hardware), or you're sending midi signals from a sequencer to the korg, which it then plays back either into a PA or back into your recording rig... so if you're sending midi to the korg and want to use the knobs on the korg to manipulate the sound as it is playing back, is that what you're having a problem with? just wanna make sure we're on the same page and you understand the concepts of midi versus using your korg as an effects unit.
my current set up is an midi/usb connection. and i do believe i need to just use a straight stereo out, which i need to purchase. off to guitar center i guess, since i can't find one anywhere else that has the size jacks i need.

 
silent_brian13 is offline
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Google


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 2006 election voter information and results thread BlueStar General Chat Archive 409 04-27-2012 05:51 PM
Kevin Cadogan as Guitarist bja1288 Pumpkins Archive 74 01-30-2007 02:58 AM
Things to ask TPQ in LA meh Pumpkins Archive 365 01-11-2007 12:15 AM
November 2006 ballot measures BlueStar General Chat Archive 43 11-04-2006 10:17 PM
the 27 worst family feud answers ever ravenguy2000 General Chat Archive 19 10-18-2006 04:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Smashing Pumpkins, Alternative Music
& General Discussion Message Board and Forums
www.netphoria.org - Copyright 1998-2014