Netphoria Message Board

Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > Pumpkins Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 10-09-2018, 10:44 AM   #1
Razor Star
Pledge

Default First Listen: Shiny and Oh, So Bright vol 1

I just got my promo of the album (i'm a journalist). It's...interesting. Good, absolutely. Certainly level-pegging with Oceania in terms of quality, though it sounds nothing like that record. They could be different bands (they kind of are). I'd be interested to know how the two planned EPs would be divided up, because there's two very different sounds here - basically a Solara mode and a Silvery Sometimes mode, I wonder if they'd have interlaced them or released two very different EPs.
Anyway...

1) Knights of Malta
- Sounds nothing like any SP song you've heard. The only thing that comes close is the Puff Daddy remix of Ava Adore. Catchy, weird, with a backwards guitar solo (James I think), loads of strings, a woah-a-woah-oh hook, Billy singing about riding rainbows, 70s gospel backing singers. I actually REALLY like it, but it will divide people. The most Rick Rubin song here.

2) Silvery Sometimes (ghosts) you know, It fits really well here. Knights of Malta and SS are recognizably the same record.

3) Travels
Glorious "Smashing Pumpkins" pop, somewhere between Stand Inside Your Love and That's The Way My Love Is, but more mid-tempo than either. Similar sparkly sound to Silvery. Actually has a very Zwan feel. I think all three guitarists are here, but it's possible of course that it's just Billy. The only track here that could really have been on Oceania (there's some bass -probably WPC- that is very Nicole actually). Strong.

4) Solara