Netphoria Message Board

Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > Pumpkins Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 11-23-2009, 01:23 AM   #1
mellon_c0llie
Minion of Jesus

Default negativity and creativity

Speaking as an artist I find that when I begin a project that I’m excited about and share it with others that negative feedback can effect my enthusiasm for completing the project. The stronger the negative feedback the further away I stay.

I can’t imagine how difficult it is for Billy right now. He’s had several years of disappointing albums and unenthusiastic fan responses. Here we are cl******g away for the first new song. He knows that if he screws it up… if he slips up at all… there’s no reason to keep going with this massive undertaking. Even if the criticism is completely fair and accurate it will still be a hard pill to swallow.

I mean we are supposed to be his core base. We should be the people who support him no matter what. If he can’t win us over there’s no way main stream will ever embrace him again. Is that what he’s searching for? Is that the reason he continues to create art? Who cares. I want the guy to be happy and I want him to continue to make great music. I think the two go hand in hand. I believe an open mind and positive reinforcement will lead to better to music to come.

Otherwise are we just wasting our time here?

Old 11-23-2009, 01:42 AM   #2
Shallowed
Braindead

Quote:
Originally Posted by mellon_c0llie View Post
Yeah, actually.

Old 11-23-2009, 01:58 AM   #3
Mayfuck
Banned

Quote:

yeah

Old 11-23-2009, 07:01 AM   #4
Manuglass
Pledge

Good post mellon_c0llie. That's not the philosophy round here though. And the SP are not making it any easier by not reporting from time to time.

Old 11-23-2009, 10:24 AM   #5
thomas_bland
Ownz

The thing is that i'm really really excited about these forthcoming releases. Checking the official site, Hipsters, kerry Brown's twitter about ten times a day.