Netphoria Message Board

Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > General Chat Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Mark Forums Read

Old 01-04-2009, 05:23 PM   #1
ammy
yer mom

Default Anyone cook using a pressure cooker?

we aquired one from Dan's mom a few months ago and are yet to use it. There's a defrosted turkey breast in the fridge I'm thinking to cook (leftovers = turkey pot pie? fuck yes) I have never used a pressure cooker before though, so I'm not sure how to go about things - when to put in veggies so they don't get soggy?

anyone? i know i'm down with the home-ec posting here, sorry. i'm old and a mommy, it's all there is in me anymore.

Old 01-04-2009, 05:26 PM   #2
Rider
Minion of Satan

Location: I was born a snake handler, and I'll die a snake handler

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammy View Post
we aquired one from Dan's mom a few months ago and are yet to use it. There's a defrosted turkey breast in the fridge I'm thinking to cook (leftovers = turkey pot pie? fuck yes) I have never used a pressure cooker before though, so I'm not sure how to go about things - when to put in veggies so they don't get soggy?

anyone? i know i'm down with the home-ec posting here, sorry. i'm old and a mommy, it's all there is in me anymore.
With a pressure cooker you just throw everything in and seal it shut. Been a long time since I've used one put I never remember adding things in stages like with a stew. Everything cooks so fast that you don't really get that mush overcooked veggie problem.

Old 01-04-2009, 05:28 PM   #3
ammy
yer mom

but if the turkey cookes faster, and the veggies cook faster, wouldn't the veggies still be overcooked by the time the turkey is cooked, or am I overthinking it?

Old 01-04-2009, 05:29 PM   #4
Mo
Immortal

So just add the veggies after a few minutes?

Old 01-04-2009, 05:32 PM   #5
carapatricia
Apocalyptic Poster

Step by Step Instructions for Using a Pressure Cooker