Netphoria Message Board


Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > General Chat Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Photo Album Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2002, 04:52 AM   #1
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Post Your guide to playing SNES games on your computer (and online)

There is a new version of Zsnes out.

Unfortunately, to play a snes game with someone online, you both have to have the same version.
download it here: http://www.zophar.net/Files/zsneswv1.337r1.06.zip

The other requirement to play against someone online is that both parties must have the same game (rom) file.
with the same filename.


Then all you need to do is have one person (the server), to tell the other person his IP number.
(it is listed when you click on "netplay")
and then choose 'Start as Server'

The other person (the client) needs to type that number into the IP box under the same menu, and click 'Connect to Server'.

to chat during gameplay, just type "T"


there is a mutliplayer service set up, if you want to play random people on the net:

www.zbattle.net

oh yeah, you can get games here:
http://www.emurater.com
and here:
http://www.omlclassics.com/snes/SNES_Home.htm



[This message has been edited by wangcomputers (edited 02-11-2002).]

 
Old 02-11-2002, 04:55 AM   #2
Virex_Gaze6
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Does it work with Mac Users?

 
Old 02-11-2002, 04:59 AM   #3
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Virex_Gaze6:
Does it work with Mac Users?
there are snes emulators for the mac, but zsnes doesn't appear to be one of them.

http://www.zophar.net/mac/snes.html

 
Old 02-11-2002, 07:50 PM   #4
Satanstick
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

hey, download it already.

It's what john would have wanted http://www.netphoria.org/wwwboard/frown.gif

and if that's not enough incentive, the version is v1.337

true.

 
Old 02-11-2002, 07:55 PM   #5
ZERO
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Satanstick:
hey, download it already.

It's what john would have wanted http://www.netphoria.org/wwwboard/frown.gif

and if that's not enough incentive, the version is v1.337

true.
now who was it that introduced you to the 1337 version eh?? WHO WAS IT DAMNIT!!?!1

 
Old 02-11-2002, 10:29 PM   #6
Satanstick
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Ok this is the last bump I'm going to bed.

You'd all better get the new version of zsnes. I don't wanna have to tell you to upgrade when I finally want to play again.

Available for a limited period.
If you get it soon, you can be cool!
Just like Cactuar:

http://www.piksandcrap.homestead.com/files/loser.jpg

 
Old 02-12-2002, 04:26 PM   #7
Andrew_Pakula
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Another must download http://www.netphoria.org/wwwboard/smile.gif

 
Old 02-12-2002, 07:54 PM   #8
NegaBenji
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

*That's* why I couldn't connect to Graveflower, he had the l337 version

 
Old 02-12-2002, 07:59 PM   #9
Graveflower
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

Quote:
Originally posted by NegaBenji:
*That's* why I couldn't connect to Graveflower, he had the l337 version
Um, I think it's because you were trying to connect to THAT, and I was on TETRINET at the time.

How embarassing! :-[

 
Old 02-12-2002, 08:27 PM   #10
NegaBenji
 
Posts: n/a
Talking

Quote:
Originally posted by Graveflower:
Um, I think it's because you were trying to connect to THAT, and I was on TETRINET at the time.

How embarassing! :-[
You must be on the crack!

 
Old 02-13-2002, 02:03 AM   #11
Mark LeDrew
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Hey listen, can I use all my SNES ROMs that I've been using with SNEX9x? Because i don't feel like having to dl all of them again but I would like to have the same emulator as you guys so I could play online with you.

------------------
http://members.home.net/mjledrew/mario.jpg

"In the mud, on your knees
Trying hard not to please
Anyone, all the time
Being a rebel's fine
But you go all the way to being brutal"

 
Old 02-13-2002, 02:11 AM   #12
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Post

yeah you can..
you just have to make sure you rename so both people have the same filename..

I'll probably start a tournament sometime this week..

could be fun http://www.netphoria.org/wwwboard/rolleyes.gif

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:08 AM   #13
Irrelevant
 
Posts: n/a
Post

*downloads*

but i don't have anyone to play against.

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:18 AM   #14
THE MACHINA666
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Just a quick note here:

All emulator (Atari, NES, SEGA, SNES, Genesis, Playstation (not all, not yet) can be transfered to one single CD, and directly in your Dreamcast. No chip, no bootdisc, only the CD.

You can put more than 1000 NES games on one single CD.

You can save every game, and even do "quicksaves" (it puts you EXACTLY where you quicksaved, so if you have trouble w/ something, you can redo it over and over untill yuo have it).

Dreamcast, what a GREAT console.

No way I'm playing on the computer.


 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:19 AM   #15
Ihaman
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by THE MACHINA666:
Just a quick note here:

All emulator (Atari, NES, SEGA, SNES, Genesis, Playstation (not all, not yet) can be transfered to one single CD, and directly in your Dreamcast. No chip, no bootdisc, only the CD.

You can put more than 1000 NES games on one single CD.

You can save every game, and even do "quicksaves" (it puts you EXACTLY where you quicksaved, so if you have trouble w/ something, you can redo it over and over untill yuo have it).

Dreamcast, what a GREAT console.

No way I'm playing on the computer.

how the hell does *that* work?

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:26 AM   #16
THE MACHINA666
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Ihaman:
how the hell does *that* work?
I don't really know. My friend took the emulators, put them on CD, and it worked. There's actually lots of these things around on the net. I don't remember their name though. MAMED or something.

These days they are trying to convert Arcade games on the Dreamcast, but it's not perfect yet. Far from it. Too slow.

He even has Lord of the Rings in CD for the Dreamcast (lucky bastard found out a copy of it from the DVD they are making). VERY good quality, not those shitty copy you can find on the Net.


 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:32 AM   #17
Mark LeDrew
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by THE MACHINA666:
MAMED or something.

MAME is the Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator and it plays over 1,800 arcade games. It's the best damn emulator in existance.


------------------
http://members.home.net/mjledrew/mario.jpg

"In the mud, on your knees
Trying hard not to please
Anyone, all the time
Being a rebel's fine
But you go all the way to being brutal"

 
Old 02-13-2002, 01:48 PM   #18
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by THE MACHINA666:
Just a quick note here:
you're talking about emulators like bleemcast..

specific emulators designed to be run on the dreamcast.
You can't just gather up a whole bunch of PC emulators and expect them to run on the DC.

so much more development has gone into PC emulation than DC emulation, and therefore PC emulators have much a higher compatability and performance.

epsxe for example is so much better than anything released by bleem. i h8 bleem..

besides, the dreamcast (whilst being a good console) has probably one of the worst control pads in existence.

[This message has been edited by wangcomputers (edited 02-13-2002).]

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:37 PM   #19
THE MACHINA666
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by wangcomputers:
your talking about emulators like bleemcast..

specific emulators designed to be run on the dreamcast.
You can't just gather up a whole bunch of PC emulators and expect them to run on the DC.

so much more development has gone into PC emulation that DC emulation, and therefore PC emulators have much a higher compatability and performance.

epsxe for example is so much better than anything released by bleem. i h8 bleem..

besides, the dreamcast (whilst being a good console) has probably one of the worst control pads in existence.

[This message has been edited by wangcomputers (edited 02-13-2002).]
Yeah. As you can see, I don't really know it works. I ask my friend to copy a CD w/ 1000+ games and he does it, kindly. That's about as much as I know.

Let's see... here in Quebec, "IF" you find NES games, it's likely that EACH game cost AT LEAST 10$. Some, like Castlevania, Metroid, Mega Man and more can cost as much as 25-30$.

So I can REALLY content myself w/ a not-so-good controller pad (anyway I'm used to it now), and play 1000s of games, only on the NES.

Repeat that for the SNES, SEGA, Genesis, etc...

Yeah, I think I can handle it.


As for bleem, I think they're alright. Their games are 95% perfect, all in all. They just have to make it full screen (it's a bit smaller than the real versions), and the games will be the same as your old NES console.



------------------
Live now, pay later.

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:46 PM   #20
undivinemartyr
 
Posts: n/a
Angry

You nerds...

: )

 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:48 PM   #21
THE MACHINA666
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by undivinemartyr:
You nerds...

: )
Wrote you mail.

Also: http://www.netphoria.org/wwwboard/Fo...ML/005610.html

They suck, but oh well...

Bye!


 
Old 02-13-2002, 03:56 PM   #22
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs down

stop kewling up my thread, ceci

 
Old 02-13-2002, 05:09 PM   #23
Mark LeDrew
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by THE MACHINA666:
Let's see... here in Quebec, "IF" you find NES games, it's likely that EACH game cost AT LEAST 10$. Some, like Castlevania, Metroid, Mega Man and more can cost as much as 25-30$.
You must not have FuncoLand in Quebec. They have scads of NES games for pretty cheap. Some of the rarer games can get kind of expensive though.


 
Old 02-13-2002, 08:23 PM   #24
The exploding boy
 
Posts: n/a
Red face

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark LeDrew:
You must not have FuncoLand in Quebec.
as a matter of fact we don't.

 
Old 02-13-2002, 08:26 PM   #25
THE MACHINA666
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by The exploding boy:
as a matter of fact we don't.
Because we suck.



 
Old 02-14-2002, 10:02 PM   #26
O
 
Posts: n/a
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Satanstick:


http://www.piksandcrap.homestead.com/files/loser.jpg
Can someone please tell me what game this is? Is it just good old regular tetris?


------------------
You're wrong on so many levels.
Here's all the levels:
-----
-----
-----
-----
-----
You're wrong on all of them

 
Old 02-14-2002, 10:20 PM   #27
wangcomputers
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by O:
Can someone please tell me what game this is? Is it just good old regular tetris?


it's "tetris battle gaiden"

follow my "oml" link, and you'll find it.

It's a great game to play online.

[This message has been edited by wangcomputers (edited 02-14-2002).]

 
Old 02-15-2002, 09:12 PM   #28
darcy_is_sexy
 
Posts: n/a
Post

*bump*

And if you need any help with configuration, optimization, or anything like that, send me an IM.

Check the sig for my AIM name.


------------------
Do you think we'll still be using napkins in the year 2000, or is this mouth vacuum thing for real?

AIM: PibbDaddy

my shitty little bootlist

 
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Google


Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Smashing Pumpkins, Alternative Music
& General Discussion Message Board and Forums
www.netphoria.org - Copyright 1998-2014