Netphoria Message Board


Go Back   Netphoria Message Board > Archives > General Chat Archive
Register Netphoria's Amazon.com Link Members List Photo Album Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2009, 04:23 PM   #1
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default Anyone cook using a pressure cooker?

we aquired one from Dan's mom a few months ago and are yet to use it. There's a defrosted turkey breast in the fridge I'm thinking to cook (leftovers = turkey pot pie? fuck yes) I have never used a pressure cooker before though, so I'm not sure how to go about things - when to put in veggies so they don't get soggy?

anyone? i know i'm down with the home-ec posting here, sorry. i'm old and a mommy, it's all there is in me anymore.

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:26 PM   #2
Rider
Minion of Satan
 
Rider's Avatar
 
Location: I was born a snake handler, and I'll die a snake handler
Posts: 9,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammy View Post
we aquired one from Dan's mom a few months ago and are yet to use it. There's a defrosted turkey breast in the fridge I'm thinking to cook (leftovers = turkey pot pie? fuck yes) I have never used a pressure cooker before though, so I'm not sure how to go about things - when to put in veggies so they don't get soggy?

anyone? i know i'm down with the home-ec posting here, sorry. i'm old and a mommy, it's all there is in me anymore.
With a pressure cooker you just throw everything in and seal it shut. Been a long time since I've used one put I never remember adding things in stages like with a stew. Everything cooks so fast that you don't really get that mush overcooked veggie problem.

 
Rider is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:28 PM   #3
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default

but if the turkey cookes faster, and the veggies cook faster, wouldn't the veggies still be overcooked by the time the turkey is cooked, or am I overthinking it?

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:29 PM   #4
Mo
Immortal
 
Location: Vienna
Posts: 20,995
Default

So just add the veggies after a few minutes?

 
Mo is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:32 PM   #6
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default

I can tell by your questionmark that you are guessing. so am i, that's why i'm hoping for experienced folk to weigh in - like rider apparently, i just don't *get* it i guess lol.

if time is sped up in the pressure cooker, evenly for all items - and if in real time the veggies will totally be overcooked before the turkey in say, a slow cooker - then in the pressure cooker, it should be the same, but FASTER, no?

oh messing with space-time is too complex!

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:32 PM   #7
Rider
Minion of Satan
 
Rider's Avatar
 
Location: I was born a snake handler, and I'll die a snake handler
Posts: 9,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ammy View Post
but if the turkey cookes faster, and the veggies cook faster, wouldn't the veggies still be overcooked by the time the turkey is cooked, or am I overthinking it?
Over thinking it. It's one of those time issues, the pressure cooker cooks everything faster because it has ton of most extra heat. It's no the heat that over cooks the veggies it it's the time. Since you are cooking everything faster everything comes out fresher. Just try it.

 
Rider is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:33 PM   #8
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default

thank you (ma'am?)

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:35 PM   #9
Travis Meeks
Rambling on
 
Travis Meeks's Avatar
 
Posts: 20,550
Default

what, a guy can't cook? You hussy!

 
Travis Meeks is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 04:36 PM   #10
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default

i've never been sure of rider's sex, honestly.

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 05:17 PM   #11
murgle
Shaz doesn't fuck around.
 
murgle's Avatar
 
Location: dallas
Posts: 9,263
Default

I think that Alton Brown does an entire Good Eats on cooking with a pressure cooker. That MIGHT've just been for making chicken stock, though. I don't remember.

I don't have a pressure cooker, only 2 slow cookers, which I've yet to use, even though I know that they work fantastically because they were my grandmother's.

 
murgle is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 05:19 PM   #12
ammy
yer mom
 
ammy's Avatar
 
Posts: 23,183
Default

ahh Alton... he's doing a dinner/talk at the aquarium this spring. i really want to get Dan tickets to go.. it's just like 150$ so it would be just tickets for him, how sad would that be?

 
ammy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 05:30 PM   #13
murgle
Shaz doesn't fuck around.
 
murgle's Avatar
 
Location: dallas
Posts: 9,263
Default

I would totally go if he were anywhere near my town. Now I want to go check his website and see if he's coming basically ANYWHERE in Texas.

 
murgle is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 06:25 PM   #14
ohnoitsbonnie
Banned
 
ohnoitsbonnie's Avatar
 
Location: somerville, nj
Posts: 23,387
Default

I'd like one of these but my kitchen is so cramped as it is

 
ohnoitsbonnie is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 07:21 PM   #15
bardy
Immortal
 
bardy's Avatar
 
Location: helllllloooooo!!
Posts: 20,804
Default

is it a pressure cooker you put on the stove or a digital pressure cooker, ammy? I have a digital one and can link you to some of the cooking time charts and pressures they have.

 
bardy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 07:30 PM   #16
bardy
Immortal
 
bardy's Avatar
 
Location: helllllloooooo!!
Posts: 20,804
Default

I looked at a bunch of recipes and then actually read the thread to figure out your question was already answered.

I couldnt find any turkey ones.. lots of vegetables and chicken ones though. They asked you to brown the meat a bit first, then throw it in the pot with some herbs and the vegetables and then to turn it on for a period of time. So yeah, you put them all in at the same time.

Although if you were going to cook carrots by themselves in the pressure cooker, you would cook them for a shorter amount of time than you would cook the turkey solo. My pressure cooker cooks most vegetables in 2-5 minutes (this is AFTER it gets up to temperature/pressure so its really like 10)

 
bardy is offline
Old 01-04-2009, 07:32 PM   #17
barden
Braindead
 
barden's Avatar
 
Location: The Ghetto
Posts: 19,613
Default

only for my peers.

 
barden is offline
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is On
Google


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should I cook for dinner? murgle General Chat Archive 30 06-06-2008 11:56 AM
wtf, when did dane cook start playing songs? Boycott Graceland General Chat Archive 64 04-05-2008 05:01 PM
netphorians who are causing me stress and high blood pressure Mayfuck General Chat Archive 30 12-27-2007 01:05 AM
The problem with aging stars 7shadesofblack Pumpkins Archive 75 09-17-2007 07:14 PM
So, how much does a blood pressure measurement device usually cost? Mo General Chat Archive 9 01-05-2007 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Smashing Pumpkins, Alternative Music
& General Discussion Message Board and Forums
www.netphoria.org - Copyright 1998-2014