Netphoria Message Board

Netphoria Message Board (http://forums.netphoria.org/index.php)
-   Music News and Discussion (http://forums.netphoria.org/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Guitar Playing and gear thread (http://forums.netphoria.org/showthread.php?t=181491)

Elphenor 09-21-2014 09:18 PM

Guitar Playing and gear thread

Let's talk about playing and buying guitars/pedals/amps etc. in this thread...

I've been playing for a few years on just whatever I could afford which has generally been Made in China Fenders. The Squire lol
I need to buy something that doesn't sound like shit, but I'm still pretty poor any recommendations?

Also, what kind of practice regimen do you keep? Like an hour on Scales then an hour on Songs or.... ?

slunken 09-21-2014 10:53 PM

There are some pretty good squires. The vintage 65 series comes to mind. Easy to upgrade pickups too.

butthurt 09-22-2014 12:15 AM

Ibanez makes some very nice guitars that don't cost too much.

bye june 09-22-2014 09:50 AM

I play an Epiphone Les Paul 100, it sounds pretty good for a $250 guitar, it's not amazing.
My amp is a Marshall 1960 Lead 4X12 Cab with a Tube DSL 100H Head...it's pretty awesome. I put down some serious cash for it though... I've got a bunch of Boss pedals too, and one of those DigiTech whammy pedals. Most of this was bought when I still had a job...

soniclovenoize 09-22-2014 10:13 AM

Yay! A gear thread!

My current setup is a Mexi Strat through a Vox AC15

My effects board currently looks like this:

Digitech Whammy ->
EHX MicroPog ->
EHX Double Muff ->
Boss DS-1 ->
EHX Lil Big Muff ->
Death By Audio Total Sonic Annihilation -> effects send ->
EHX Small Clone ->
MXR Phase 90 ->
Boss BF-3 ->
EHX Memory Boy ->
Boss DD-7 -> effects return to Total Sonic Annihilation -> amp

I just got the Death By Audio Flaming Lips' Space Ring Time Destroyer, which should be here on Wednesday (if UPS is right). The thing looks insane so I'm super excited for it!

The Omega Concern 09-22-2014 01:29 PM