View Full Version : SPOILER: TheFutureEmbrace Review

Phoenix Down
04-19-2005, 05:38 PM
Okay, i have listened to it a few times now and will try to put down some impressions. This is however very hard, since it needs some time to sink in as Ad Hoc Alias already stated. I love all of Billys work, but I am also a Siamese Dream fanatic, so i know what many people wish this album to be like.

Forget about it. Don't think Rock. Billy said "Future Rock", but the emphasis is clearly on "Future".
It is so different that it's really a shock at first and I know it is most likely going to be a dissapointment in some way for a lot of you.
It sounds neither like Pumpkins nor Zwan - I appreciate that, because I think it adds another colour to the Corgan palette and I am happy to see Billy making progression musically. It's not an electronic experiment, this time he seems really confident and comfortable with it.

i'm not an expert on their catalogues but i think it would be adequate to compare the sound to new order and joy division.

i miss some things i've always loved about the pumpkins, like surprising song changes, the quiet-loud dynamics, this underlying violence or the trademark screams (his singing has become too good by now : ), but the songs are quite strong and have this subtle beauty. Just as the two Mellon Collie disks resemble day and night,
i like to think that Adore is the nocturnal, disenchanted aftermath to TheFuture Embrace. FTE gets quieter at the end, maybe with StrayZ floating into To Sheila? Maybe he was thinking of this sound when he talked about the death of rock and doing a totally electric album with Adore at first.
very few distinctive guitars indeed, but billy never was so danceable lol

I will post some thoughts on the single tracks in a minute

All Things change: comes in as quite a shock and shows the direction of the new sound. it's cool in some wacky way.