View Full Version : Taping w/ IPOD/NOMAD/Archos whatever....


MisterLove
07-02-2003, 07:10 PM
taping with an IPOD/NOMAD/Archos.

does this shit work? It records straight to .wav?

mosquitoboy
07-02-2003, 10:44 PM
yep....my friend has the craziest rig with this nomad that holds like 20 gigs. it works really well

bowmaan
07-03-2003, 12:22 AM
I myself am I converted Nomad taper (from MD) and I must say its a great ease to tape with the nomad. Although, as many following posts will state, it isnt perfect. But the economics of it are quite pleasing.

FFR- core sound developed the PDAudio-CF Interface Card which plugs into PDA's like the Ipaq for higher b/f ratio'ed recordings. capable of up to 192 KHz i believe. 24 bits, IIRC.

If you want advice, this is the food chain of recording gear: MD < Nomad < DAT

feel free to disagree and argue specifics against that generalization. I'll gladly ignore them

love,
bowman

StillBecomingApart
07-03-2003, 03:21 AM
Links?

Price?

Pics?

sleeper
07-10-2003, 09:20 AM
im buying an ipod shortly i didnt know you could tape with it. how do you do that? or will there be instructions on this when i buy it

sleeper
07-10-2003, 09:57 AM
okay from what i now understand the new 2nd gen ipod has a glitch that lets you record 6 seconds of mono audio through the headphone jack. but there are a lot of rumours that apple is releasing an recording adapter soon. if this maintains true ill definately buy one

MisterLove
07-10-2003, 10:03 AM
yeah, when i posted this i didn't know the ipod didn't even have a "line-in". I just assumed it did.

sleeper
07-10-2003, 11:33 AM
id just want to use mine to record jams and the odd show. completely dumb question here, but whats a good, simple, cheap mike to to use for general recording? nothing fancy or too directional, just a mike that picks things up as they are.

Electron52
07-14-2003, 07:29 PM
yah i have an ipod 2... how do i record with it? there is no input.

Rima
07-15-2003, 12:44 AM
Also, what would the setup be? For stealth?

Would the IPOD just be in place of a md/dat and you'd need the usual; battery, bass roll off, mic, etc?

MisterLove
07-15-2003, 08:22 AM
Originally posted by Rima
Also, what would the setup be? For stealth?

Would the IPOD just be in place of a md/dat and you'd need the usual; battery, bass roll off, mic, etc?

I'm sorry for the misleading topic. I lumped them together without realizing one important feature the IPOD lacks. YOU CAN'T TAPE WITH AN IPOD. NO Line-INPUT!

As far as the others. The Archos and Jukebox 3 have line-in. The Nomad Jukebox Zen (smaller) does not, which was disappointing. If you had to ask if you still require mics then i don't know what to tell ya. But yeah it would just replace the md/dat.

Electron52
07-15-2003, 01:34 PM
actually, the ipod is recordable i have learned... but only for 6 seconds. there is a trick to do it. check out www.ipoding.com i think it is.

RumoredToTheS&N
07-15-2003, 05:59 PM
well, that'll come in handy.
:p

Boycott Graceland
07-15-2003, 10:42 PM
Originally posted by Electron52
actually, the ipod is recordable i have learned... but only for 6 seconds. there is a trick to do it. check out www.ipoding.com i think it is.
if you're taping the locust, you can record an entire song.

i've got a nomad, too. what kind of mics work well with it?

Electron52
07-15-2003, 11:07 PM
what is the locust?

Boycott Graceland
07-16-2003, 03:36 AM
Originally posted by Electron52
what is the locust?
the locust (http://www.allmusic.com/cg/amg.dll?p=amg&uid=CASS70306191741&sql=B3uq8g4gmtv6z).