View Full Version : if you were to buy a relatively cheap pc notebook, would you go for windows xp or vis

wHATcOLOR
06-01-2009, 05:17 PM
ta?

all my info is really just heresay, and it's leading me to lean toward xp. so i'm reaching out for even more heresay.

what'd you go for, and why?

this is what i'm looking at. FRYS.com*|*LENOVO (444625U) (http://www.frys.com/product/5881633?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG)

this is just a machine to run basic business things like excel, xcelsius, crystal, quickbooks, stuff like that..

JokeyLoki
06-01-2009, 05:19 PM
I'm just now starting to not hate Vista, but I still think XP is the way to go until Windows 7 comes out.

Mo
06-01-2009, 05:23 PM
I'm just now starting to not hate Vista, but I still think XP is the way to go until Windows 7 comes out.

This.

killtrocity
06-01-2009, 05:27 PM
Vista will waste your memory, while XP is more than adequate

ATS
06-01-2009, 05:30 PM
id get xp with 3 gb of ram. i have no complaints from my experience with vista, though. it's been scientifically proven that the bad rap it got was apple brainwashing at work, and that the average pig-at-the-teet gave vista ten stars out of five when they were told they werent using a micro$oft product

wHATcOLOR
06-01-2009, 05:32 PM
c00l. thanks guys

Nimrod's Son
06-01-2009, 07:38 PM
Vista, preferably the 64 bit version.

If you get a notebook with XP on it it's probably fucking ancient equipment inside of it

wHATcOLOR
06-01-2009, 07:51 PM
between:

1st:

$600
windows xp
3 gb ram
250 gb hd
FRYS.com*|*LENOVO (444625U) (http://www.frys.com/product/5881633?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG)

and:

2nd:

$700
windows vista 64 bit
4 gb ram
320 gb hd
FRYS.com*|*Lenovo (59-018790) (http://www.frys.com/product/5881503?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG)

you'd pick the 2nd?